What a Wonderful World

Aah, Louis Armstrong.  This summer, I’ve enjoyed relaxing a bit with my families and sharing some wonderful music that helps us appreciate the world around us.  My whole body seems to relax when I listen to Lous Armstrong sing “What a Wonderful World”.  I love holding my daughter and dancing cheek to cheek with this song.  I found this fabulous video that I wanted to share with you.  The photo slide show is a spectacular way to illustrate the words of this song.

We also love to sing songs together in the car as we are driving.  And we are now learning the lyrics to this song.  They can be found here.  (Copyright prevents me from listing them on my site.)   My son is 12 and my daughter is 4, and it is amazing how singing this song can transform the moment from “independent concerns” to a calm feeling of cohesion.   I always tell my children that they are a part of what makes this world so wonderful to me, and it helps them to feel like they are a part of the love that abounds in this song. 

Music can be such a magical experience.  That’s why I teach Kindermusik – there are so many songs that can do this, and Kindermusik is a fun way to learn to sing the songs together.

“Feelin’ Groovy” is another of our favorites – but that’s for another blogging day.

Leave a Reply

